Clermont News Leader

Follow Us On:

Council Members Sworn Into Office, New Mayor Pro Tem Selected

Posted on Friday, November 30, 2018 at 8:52 am

Pictured are Councilman Timothy Bates, Mayor Gail Ash and Councilwoman Diane Travis

It’s official. Mayor Gail Ash (Seat 3), Councilwoman Diane Travis (Seat 5) and Councilman Timothy Bates (Seat 1) were sworn into office for two more years at the council meeting on Nov. 27 at the Council Chambers in City Hall.
The council selected Councilman Timothy Bates as the new Mayor Pro Tem for one year.
“I’m so thrilled,” said Ash, Clermont’s first female mayor. “I look forward to all that we’ll accomplish in the next two years with our Master Plan, Project Olympus and more.”
Ash has been mayor since 2014 and previously served as a council member from 2002-2005. Travis has been on the council since 2014 and also is excited to continue working on the city’s award-winning Master Plan.
“I truly appreciate the support and votes to allow me to continue to serve our great city for the next two years,” Travis said. “I want to continue what we started four years ago with the Master Plan and other projects. Thank you, Clermont voters!”
As for Bates, he has served on the council since 2012.
“I am humbled and honored to have the opportunity to represent the citizens of Clermont,” Bates said. “I look forward to continuing the implementation of the Master Plan, generating more life in the downtown area and helping develop the Wellness Way area. Thank you for your continued trust and support.”
The Nov. 6 General Election results from the Lake County Supervisor of Elections were as follows, with all 11 of Clermont’s precincts counted.
· Ash received 8,935 votes (56.89 percent), while Jack Kruse received 6,771 votes (43.11 percent).
· Travis received 9,622 votes (63.19 percent), while Ebo Entsuah received 5,604 votes (36.81 percent).
· Bates was unopposed.
The other two council seats will be up for election in November 2019. Ray Goodgame has held Seat 2 since 2004, and Heidi Brishke has held Seat 4 since 2017. Clermont City Council members hold two-year terms.